Chong Wei Set for Ninth Title
20 Jan 2013

DATUK LEE CHONG WEI is in the running for his ninth Malaysia Open title tomorrow after defeating Denmark’s Jan O Jorgensen in the semifinal of the Maybank Malaysia Open at Putra Stadium today.

Chong Wei and Jorgensen started off exchanging rallies but it was Chong Wei who took the early lead. He was quick to gain four unanswered points to finish the first interval 11-6.

The defending champion continued to outplay the Dane and wrap up the first game 21-13 in 15 minutes.

Chong Wei and Jorgensen started the second game with speed and exciting court play, wowing the crowd and keeping them at the edge of their seats.

The sixth seed Jorgensen played more aggressively at the start and took the 5-4 lead in the 6th minute of the second game.

The two started exchanging rallies again, this time only for the Dane to stack up 11-7.

After the interval, Chong Wei remained steadfast, cutting the deficit to 15-12. It was Jorgensen, however, who showed superiority to take the second game 21-17 in 25 minutes.

Jorgensen continued to fire his way to lead 4-0 in the rubber game but that was where Chong Wei decided enough is enough, chalking up nine consecutive points to tip the scale to his favour.

They went into the interval with Chong Wei leading 11-7.

The Malaysian consistently stormed the court and led 15-7, not giving his opponent any chances to score any points.

He pocketed the game at 21-12 in 30 minutes.

Chong Wei, who will meet Sony Dwi Kuncoro of Indonesia in the final tomorrow, said Jorgensen had improved a lot since they last met at the Denmark Open last October.

\"His attacking was strong,” Chong Wei said.

“I had to quickly regain my focus, and I will have to maintain this against Sony tomorrow.”


Singles: Lee Chong Wei bt Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark) 21-13, 17-21, 21-12; Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Indonesia) bt Kenichi Tago (Japan) 21-12, 19-21, 23-21.

Doubles: Ko Sung Hyun-Lee Yong Dae (South Korea) bt Goh V Shem-Lim Khim Wah (Malaysia) 21-11, 21-15; Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia) bt Chai Biao-Liu Xiaolong (China)  21-12, 21-11.

Singles: Tai Tzu Ying (Taiwan) bt Saina Nehwal (India) 22-20, 21-14; Yao Xue (China)  bt Bae Yeon Ju (South Korea) 21-15, 21-18.

Doubles: Matsutomo Misaki-Takahashi Ayaka (Japan) bt Shinta Mulia Sari-Yao Lei (Singapore) 22-20, 21-14; Bao Yixin-Tian Qing (China) bt Lejarsar Variella Aprilsasi Putri-Marissa Vita (Indonesia) 21-13, 21-17.

Mixed doubles: Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Malaysia) bt Robert Mateusiak-Nadiezda Zieba (Poland) 12-21, 21-18, 21-16; Joachim Fischer Nielsen-Christinna Pedersen (Denmark) bt Praveen Jordan-Marissa Vita (Indonesia) 21-14, 21-17.